Recommended Reads: Queen of the Tearling (Trilogy)

So I just finished reading The Fate of the Tearling and I have to say I was not disappointed but neither was I super into the ending. I did cry. But that’s beside the point. This was a fantastic trilogy, well-written and the characters were so realistic in the way they bantered it was almost like the author recorded actual events in a mystical land.

I originally thought it was a fantasy book, and though it has a lot of fantasy elements I have to say it’s probably more sci-fi then fantasy near the end. It’s this beautiful happy medium between the two.

I’m not very good at describing things I’ve read, as my 7th grade teacher has said more than once. But I really did enjoy these books, I loved Kelsea the main protagonist.  She was not over done, she was not perfect, and she was not always a good person. She had doubts and people doubted her too. Even those closest to her sometimes thought she needed a firm grounding when she was being exceptionally haughty. She was a girl who wanted the best for her people and ended up making a couple of big mistakes after she became Queen.

At one point, she even compares herself to the enemy queen and the similarities are very eye-opening.

This book wove magic, history, and created a whole new world that didn’t seem far from our own. It was lifelike in its design, characteristics and politics.

I can only aspire to write something so amazing. I hope Erika Johansen writes something again soon as I’m in a serious book hangover.

Leave a Reply

